Editors of the Journal

The Review has a UK-based editorial working group, supported by an international advisory group and by contributing editors from Africa, Europe and the Americas.

Editorial Working Group

Hakim Adi
University of Chichester
Alex Beresford   Editor
University of Leeds
University of Bradford
University of Leeds
University of Birmingham
Hannah Cross   Editor
University of Westminster
Peter Dwyer   Book Reviews Editor
Ruskin College, Oxford University
School of Oriental and African Studies
Elisa Greco
University of Manchester
Goldsmiths College, London
Graham Harrison   Deputy Chair of EWG
University of Sheffield
Gabrielle Lynch   Chair of EWG
University of Warwick
London School of Economics
Overseas Development Institute
Matteo Rizzo
School of Oriental and African Studies
Department of Geography, Royal Holloway
Clare Smedley   Production Editor
Colin Stoneman   Hon. Treasurer
Journal of Southern African Studies
Jörg Wiegratz
University of Leeds
University of Central Lancashire
Leo Zeilig   Briefings and debates editor
University of the Western Cape

Contributing Editors

Femi Aborisade
Center for Labour Studies, Nigeria
University of Ottawa, Canada
Jimi Adesina
University of South Africa
B. Adebola Aiyelabola Jr.
University of Kassel and University of Jos
Centre for Constitutionalism and Demilitarisation, Nigeria
Peter Alexander
University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Simon Fraser University, Canada
Centre for Civil Society, South Africa
Chambi Chachage
Independent Researcher/Analyst, Tanzania
Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, Netherlands
University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa
Third World Network, Accra, Ghana / Africa Editor
Elisa Greco
University of Manchester, UK
Miles Larmer
University of Oxford, UK
Laura Mann
University of Oxford, UK
Giuliano Martiniello
Makerere University, Uganda
Tanzania Gender Networking Programme, Tanzania
University of Fort Hare, South Africa
African Institute for Agrarian Studies, Zimbabwe
University of Oxford, UK
Lusile Ntsebeza
University of Cape Town, South Africa
Ebenezer Obadare
Univerity of Kansas, USA
Nordic Africa Institute, Sweden
University of East London, UK
Danish Institute for International Studies, Denmark
Director, IKM Emergent programme, Germany
Reem Saad
American University in Cairo, Egypt
University of Zimbabwe, Harare
University of Kurdistan-Hawler, Iraq
Royal Museum of Central Africa, Belgium

The International Advisory Board consists of Björn Beckman, Fantu Cheru, Jean Copans, Shubi Ishemo, Peter Lawrence, John Loxley, Colin Murray, Mahmood Mamdani, John Markakis, Adebayo Olukoshi, John Saul, Issa Shivja, Morris Szeftel, and Gavin Williams.

We remember the following comrades who were closely involved with the journal: Chris Allen , A M Babu, Carolyn Baylies, Lionel Cliffe, Basil Davidson, Ruth First, Jitendra Mohan and Stephen Riley.